AgentCOS / Buyer's guide · Updated October 25, 2026

Best real estate market reports for agents: what a good one shows and how the options compare

The best real estate market reports cover an area small enough to matter to your client, show twelve months of sold prices and supply, and end with what it means for this buyer or seller. Here are the checks we use, how seven real estate market report options compare on price and coverage, and where a one-off branded report fits.

By Brian Lee Burke, Colorado broker licensed since 2003

Full disclosure: AgentCOS sells the report named in this guide, and AgentCOS is owned by Brian Lee Burke. We name other tools fairly, using only what their own websites say. Prices were checked on October 25, 2026 and change often; confirm on each company's page before you buy.

Short answer

If you are a REALTOR, RPR's market reports cost nothing extra. Your MLS or association likely includes ShowingTime+ MarketStats charts. Altos Research is the subscription for weekly, ZIP-level trend reports. Homebot and Top Producer's Market Snapshot are automated emails that keep past clients in touch. If you need one finished, branded report for a neighborhood, subdivision or ZIP, with what it means for the client, the AgentCOS Area Market Report is $29.

How we judge

Six checks for choosing

“Best” depends on what you need. These are the checks we use, the same for every option, ours included.

  • 1. The right size of area

    A subdivision, neighborhood or ZIP. Metro numbers rarely match what a client's street is doing.

  • 2. Sold prices, not just list prices

    List prices are asking prices. A report should lead with what sold, and for how much.

  • 3. Supply by price band

    Months of supply in each price band tells a seller whether they are in a buyer's or seller's market at their price.

  • 4. Direction, not a snapshot

    Twelve months, with the last three months against the nine before, so the client sees which way it is moving.

  • 5. Sourced and dated

    Every number with its source and date. If a number cannot be confirmed, it should say so.

  • 6. What it means for this client

    A buyer and a seller read the same numbers differently. A good report says what to do next.

Side by side

The comparison

From each company's own website, checked October 25, 2026. Listed in no particular order; this is not a ranking. On a phone, swipe the table sideways.

OptionPrice (checked Oct 25, 2026)What you getBest fit
RPR market reportsNo additional cost for REALTORS.Market activity and seller reports from public record and MLS data.REALTORS who want free, branded area reports.
ShowingTime+ MarketStats (InfoSparks)Sold to MLSs and associations; often included in dues.Interactive charts, compare up to 4 areas, monthly local updates.Agents whose MLS includes it.
Altos ResearchLite $49/mo (5 ZIPs), Professional $79/mo (10), Advanced $149/mo.Branded ZIP-level market trend reports.Agents who send weekly or monthly trend reports by ZIP.
HomebotSolo $50/mo plus $50 setup (250 clients).A monthly home value digest for homeowners.Past-client and homeowner nurture.
Top Producer Market SnapshotPrice not stated on its page.Automated MLS-based reports on listings, price changes and sales.Automated drips to leads.
Your association's monthly reportVaries; Colorado REALTORS publishes free county reports.Monthly statewide and county numbers.Quoting the official local numbers.
AgentCOS Area Market Report$29 a report, built for you within 1 business day.5 to 6 pages on one area: 12 months, supply by price band, what it means.One branded report for a client or a listing appointment.

Option by option

What each one is good at

  • RPR. Free to REALTORS. Beyond seller reports, RPR has market activity reports and a dynamic market activity report built for lead capture. Their page
  • ShowingTime+ MarketStats. Sold at the MLS or association level, not to individual agents. InfoSparks lets you compare up to four areas and share or embed charts; FastStats delivers monthly local market updates. Their page
  • Altos Research. Publishes its prices: Lite $49 a month for 5 ZIP reports, Professional $79 for 10, Advanced $149 for unlimited reports in your state. All plans include custom branding. Their page
  • Homebot. Not a market report so much as a monthly home digest for homeowners. Solo is $50 a month plus a $50 setup for 250 clients; a lender co-sponsored plan is $25. Their page
  • Top Producer Market Snapshot. Automated, MLS-powered reports on homes for sale, new listings, price changes and sales, with open tracking. Price is not stated on its page. Their page
  • Colorado Association of REALTORS. Free monthly market trend reports, statewide and by county. In the Denver metro, DMAR's Market Trends Report is now a member benefit. Their page

Honest fit

Where the AgentCOS Area Market Report fits

  • One area your client cares about: a neighborhood, subdivision or ZIP, from your MLS export.
  • The area at a glance (median sold price, price per sq ft, days on market, months of inventory), the last 3 months against the 9 before, and supply by price band.
  • A closing page on what it means for this buyer or this seller right now, with your logo and contact on every page.
  • $29 a report, no subscription, delivered within 1 business day.

See the Area Market Report →

When to pick something else

  • Not an automated monthly drip. For that, Homebot, Market Snapshot or Altos run on their own.
  • Not interactive charts. MarketStats and RPR do that inside your MLS or membership.
  • You send the MLS export; we do not pull MLS data for outside agents.
  • For free public numbers to quote, use our statistics pages and your association's report.

Questions

Quick answers

What are the best real estate market reports for agents?

The ones that cover a small area, lead with sold prices, show supply by price band and say what it means for the client. RPR is free for REALTORS, MarketStats often comes with your MLS, Altos and Homebot are subscriptions, and the AgentCOS Area Market Report is $29 for one finished report.

What should be in a real estate market report?

Median sold price, price per square foot, days on market, months of supply by price band, twelve months of trend, the source and date of each number, and a plain sentence on what it means for the reader.

How often should I send market reports to clients?

Monthly is the common rhythm for past clients and sellers getting ready. Send one right away when the client's area moves, such as a jump in price cuts or supply.

Where can I get free real estate market data?

Realtor.com, Redfin and Zillow publish free research data, FHFA and Freddie Mac publish free government and agency numbers, and many state associations publish free monthly reports. Our guide to real estate data sources lists them with update days.

What is months of supply?

The number of months it would take to sell every home for sale at the current pace of sales. Low supply favors sellers; high supply favors buyers. Read it by price band, not just for the whole area.

Is Homebot a market report?

Homebot is a monthly home value digest emailed to homeowners. It keeps you in touch; it is not a full area report you present at an appointment.

Sources

Checked October 25, 2026. Prices and plans change; each company's own page is the final word.

Walk in with the numbers.

Any report, your logo, built from your MLS files. $29 a report, delivered within 1 business day.

Order an Area Market Report
Order a report · $29